St Marks Primary and High School Alumni

St Marks Primary and High School Alumni

About Swaziland Home Swaziland St Marks

2010 Reunion

Messages Contact us

Swaziland - History

Page 3 of 9

Swaziland, Lesotho, Namibia, and South Africa also are members of the Common Monetary Area (CMA) in which repatriation and unrestricted funds are permitted.


A large part of the Swaziland's revenue comes from the Coca Cola Company, who for tax reasons and the easy access to vast amounts of cheap raw Swazi sugar, have located their concentrate plant in the country. Other exports include citrus and canned fruit, cotton yarn, sugar, wood pulp, and refrigerators.



Political Structure and Government


Politically Swaziland is made up of four administrative districts of Hhohho, Manzini, Lubombo and Shiselweni, each run by local government.


These regions are further subdivided into tinkhundla administered by royal aides or governors (the tindvuna); each inkhundla in turn comprises several chiefdoms governed by chiefs as well as urban municipal areas and private lands.


The country operates a dual political system based on Kingship and Parliament.


Legislature is the overriding responsibility of the King, Maswati III, and is based on the traditional Swazi system of laws passed down from generation to generation, and Parliament acting as an advisory body to the King.


Political parties are banned by the Constitution promulgated on 13 October 1978 and illegal parties are prohibited from holding large public gatherings and rallies. However, certain political organizations do exist including the Swaziland Federation of Trade Unions and the People’s United Democratic Movement (PUDEMO).


The King not only appoints the prime minister — the head of government — but also appoints a small number of representatives for both chambers of the Libandla (parliament). The Senate consists of 30 members, while the House of Assembly has 82 seats, 55 of which are occupied by elected representatives, (elections are held every five years in November)


The judicial system of the High Court and court officials is based on the South African Roman-Dutch law and Swazi traditional law, but the country has not accepted compulsory ICJ jurisdiction. Judges are appointed by the King..


Swaziland is a member of the United Nations and an independent member of the Commonwealth and has excellent relationships with its neighbours, other African states, and the international community. The International Monetary Fund (IMF), UNESCO, Interpol, SADC, the OAU, and the World Health Organisation (WHO) are a few of the organisations to which Swaziland belongs.





Schooling in Swaziland is not compulsory, and nominal fees are charged to parents.




  Continue on Page 4
Raine Alexander - 27 June 2008


Swaziland Country Study Guide published by International Business Publications

Ministry of Education,Swaziland Government


Other pages in this section: